Axel Wilmar ~ Konkret Composition

View image full screen View image full screen

< Previous Next >

  • Axel Wilmar ~ Konkret Composition
  • Axel Wilmar ~ Konkret Composition alternative image

Axel Wilmar (1913-1989)
Konkret Komposition
Mixed media on board
Signed ‘Wilmar 57'
26 x 23 ins / 67 x 57 cms


Additional Information

Axel Egon Wilmar was born in Copenhagen on 28th February 1913. He was a self taught Danish painter and designer.

Wilmar first exhibited at the annual Artists’ Exhibition (Kunstnernes Efterårsudstilling) in 1946 - and continued to exhibit with them until the late 1950s. He was a founder member of the Spiralen (The Spiral) group of abstract artists and exhibited with them (at their first exhibition) in 1947 and subsequent exhibitions until 1958, and exhibited with the Salon des Réalités Nouvelles in Paris (1950-1955).

Other exhibitions include 'Konkret Realisme’ at Kunsthal Charlottenburg, Copenhagen (1956), Gutenberghus Kunstforen, Copenhagen (1958) and '10 Urge Malere' (10 young painters), Copenhagen (1960).

Axel Wilmar died on 8th September 1989, aged 76


The Salon des Réalités Nouvelles

The Salon des Réalités Nouvelles is an association of artists (and an art exhibition) in Paris, which focuses on abstract art. The expression ?Réalités Nouvelles? (New realities) was penned in 1912 by the poet Guillaume Apollinaire. He viewed abstraction as the best way to express modern reality.

The first exhibition was held in 1939 in Galerie Charpentier, organised by Robert Delaunay, Sonia Delaunay, Nelly van Doesburg and Fredo Sidès. In 1946 the Salon was officially established as a successor to Abstraction-Création by Fredo Sidès, and its first board included Jean Arp, Sonia Delaunay and Albert Gleizes as members. Sidès was chairman until his death in 1953.

With enthusiastic critical support in its early days, the Salon quickly proved successful, presenting geometric and concrete works by artists such as Jean Dewasne and Victor Vasarely as well as non-figurative works by Pierre Soulages, Georges Mathieu, Vieira de Silva, and Robert Motherwell.